Another Breakfast Ciambella

Okay, so breakfast sweets are my weakness.  Really, I think that dessert is Ciambella filled with jambest eaten for breakfast.  I’m not talking about rich cakes with buttercream frosting or Fudge sauce, but simple homemade, hearty cakes or cookies.

The Italian way.

Here is a solid, lemon-scented Ciambella made in a slim French loaf pan. It has an unexpected surprise filling of thick jam.  It is sort of a crostata in a loaf form.  Today I used raspberry because I had it on hand.  Traditionally, Italians would go for the ubiquitous apricot jam, always the one.  But it’s up to you, be creative, have fun with baking!

Notice the adorable coffee cup?  I bought it in Portici, in one of my favorite bars, last summer, while I was enjoying one of the best cornetti in town.  It’s handcrafted in Vietri, a small town famous for its beautiful ceramics.  I treasure it.

Of course, this recipe will be in my upcoming cookbook, don’t you fret!

 

Leave a Reply

