Red Wine and Rosemary Cake: A Taste of the Renaissance

So, what can I tell you, even though is nearly 90 degrees, I felt like baking.  I turned on the oven (and the air conditioner) and got quickly to work on the making of cake and video.  This is a lovely, aromatic, pretty cake that combines savory ingredients flawlessly into a sweet and light batter.  Delightful for breakfast (always my favorite way), or with coffee or tea.  I created this recipe after I heard someone talking about this Renaissance-type cake on a radio cooking show many years ago.  Thus, with a little investigating of ingredients, a photo in a catalog and the help of my extensive cookbook collection, I worked out this little gem with an ancient taste and a pleasantly rustic appearance.  Here is the recipe!

Leave a Reply

